Youth Services

Programs encouraging the participation of young people of school age and early adulthood in local and international programs.
David Binks (Coordinator)  Glenelg
Ex-officio on all Youth Services Committees
Youth Protection Committee

Also incorporating Crisis management, Risk Management and Document review Committees.
A committee required by RI to ensure the safety and wellbeing of all youth involved in Rotary programs. 

     Peter Poulton   (Chair) Norwood
     DG Jerry Casburn
     DGE Dick Wilson
     David Binks Glenelg
     Margaret Vade Hallett Cove
     Margaret Blake Hyde Park
     One nominee from both Youth Exchange and RYLA/RYPEN Committees
Youth Exchange
Organises long and short term international Youth Exchange Program. Selects participants from nominations by clubs, places and prepares the students and their families for their time away, and coordinates the placement of incoming students. 
     Gayle Sparnon (Chair) Coromandel Valley
     John and Shirley True Strathalbyn
     Daryl and Elizabeth Wickham
Coromandel Valley
     Helen and David Gooley Mitcham
     Sean Judge, Inbound Coordinator
     Rada Radisic
Mildura Deakin
     Mina Ward
Magill Sunrise
     Tahlia Crickmar
Past Exchange student
     Trephina Gartley
 Past Exchange student
     Robin and Geoff Oertel Strathalbyn
The Science Experience (TSE)
A joint 9500/9520 committee managing the Science Experience at the three SA universities. Information available at:
     David Adamson (Chair) Elizabeth Park (9500)
     Don Blackmore Prospect Sunrise  (9500)
     Bernie Boxer  Hyde Park
     Eric Fagan-Jeffries (Rep/Adviser) Young Scientists 
Roadsafe Youth Driver Awareness (RYDA)
Provides support to schools wishing to educate teenagers about responsible driving. Works in conjunction with SAPOL.

     Judi Brown Morialta
     Peter Hammond Somerton Park
Rotary Youth Leadership Awards (RYLA)
Rotary (Australia) Youth Program of Enrichment (RYPEN)
RYLA is Rotary’s worldwide youth leadership training program for young people 18-25 years old, who show leadership qualities. Clubs sponsor participants attending a weeklong live-in seminar. 
RYPEN is a program for young people aged 15-17 that introduces them to skills in leadership, teamwork and communication, in a friendly and stimulating environment.
     John Sandham (Chair) Coromandel Valley
     Peter Poulton
     Penni Hamilton Smith (Admin) Mitcham
     Josh Richards
Kent Town
     Michelle Harding Barmera
     Jessica Ziersch
Tailem Bend
     Melissa Ernst
 Lead Director
     Tyler Lawrence
 Lead Director
     Ben Ernst Adviser
     Nick Ditter Adviser
Rotary Youth Wellbeing (RYWELL)
Organises school holiday programs of activities for youth at risk
under the care of Families SA. 
     Lynton Nicholas (Coordinator) Campbelltown
    Peter Gapp (Treasurer) Holdfast Bay
     Sarah Walsh Noarlunga East

National Youth Science Forum (NYSF)
Selects secondary students nominated by clubs to attend the Forum each January. Information is available at
     Margaret Northcote  (Chair) Campbelltown
     Robert Handley Hyde Park
      Ann Price St Peters
    Mary Silver Mitcham
     PDG David Roberts Hallett Cove
    Margaret Northcote
    Mark Divito (SA Science)
    Andrew Hayes, Kristina Miller
    and Tom Gransbury
 NYSF staff
Rotaract and Interact
Rotaract: Clubs for young adults aged 18-30, promoting the Rotary ideal of Fellowship and Service. Interact: Clubs within schools for 14-18 year olds, promoting fellowship and world understanding.
     Rotarian Contacts:  
     Irene Healy (Interact) Hallett Cove
     Ellen Griffiths (Rotaract) Onkaparinga
     Cecile Christensen FU Rotaract
     Graham Peake 
     Helen Peake  (Interact)
Murray Bridge
Murray Bridge

     Rotaract Office Bearers:  
     Sturt Rotaract Club  
     President Joshua Richards
     Secretary Anh Caprile
      Flinders University Rotaract Club  
      President Shaun Crouch