District Description

Rotary District 9520 covers parts of four Australian states – South Australia, Victoria, New South Wales and Queensland. It’s about 1,300 kilometres long and 400 Kilometres wide. There about 1,400 Rotarians in 51 Clubs. The main population centre is Adelaide, the capital city of South Australia.

The District stretches from the south coast of South Australia, through the southern half of the metropolitan area of Adelaide, the Fleurieu Peninsula, the Lower Murray, the Riverland area of South Australia to the Sunraysia district of Victoria on to Wentworth and Broken Hill, in New South Wales, and into the south-west corner of Queensland.

Throughout the district there is a wide variety of primary industries - grain, cattle, sheep, fruit, vegetables and nuts. Fruit production includes high quality citrus, stone fruits and grapes. Excellent wines are produced in the Adelaide Hills, the Southern Vales (south of Adelaide), in the Riverland and in Sunraysia. In recent years wineries in the District have made a major contribution to a dramatic increase in Australia’s wine exports.

There is some light industry in country towns, but most manufacturing, finance and business is centred in and around Adelaide, including two major motor vehicle plants. Roxby Downs and Broken Hill are major mining centres and in the Far North of South Australia there are oil and gas fields. Natural gas is supplied to Adelaide and Sydney.

Tourism plays an important part in the economy of the area. Adelaide has its internationally-renowned Christmas Pageant and the biennial Festival of Arts. The Fleurieu Peninsula, the Riverland, Sunraysia and Broken Hill all have their own individual tourist attractions.